Read Whatever You Want

“Girl, you’re so white!”

A young black girl told me this during middle school. I was minding my own business reading Stephen King’s It on the bus. I remember looking at this girl like she was out of her mind.

Clearly, she was. As far as I know, reading doesn’t magically change a reader’s skin color.

This may seem like trivial chatter but similar situations keep popping out throughout my life as an active reader. I’ve been ridiculed for various reasons for reading romance novels (aka “bodice rippers”), comic books, children’s books, and more. Sometimes, it’s just books in general. It doesn’t stop!

Good thing I don’t give a hoot. Reading’s fun! It’s one of life’s many treasures.

It’s Cool to Read

If you ever feel ashamed for reading books that bring you joy, don’t. Never let people take that kind of happiness away from you. You can read whatever you want!

Besides, there are many strong benefits to reading including increased creativity, memory, and empathy.

My mind’s eye receives new visions as soon as I read a new book’s first sentence. I love the euphoria surging through my entire being when I read.

You Read? LOL

What’s the deal with people poking fun at readers anyway? You express your passion for reading and you’re ridiculed as a “nerd”?

What? Why!?

Is staring at the sun better? Playing Russian Roulette? Who knows.

I’ve read an interesting article about reader’s shame between men and women. What I took from the post: Women face more reader’s shame than men. On the other hand, men only face reader’s shame when they’re caught reading an ultra-feminine book (whatever that may be).

I’m a completely chill woman with no problems telling folks what I’m currently reading or the fact I read for pleasure at all. I won’t lie about reading spicy erotica or mystical occult knowledge.

Just Read.

You do you. Your bibliophilic freedom is infinite.

Bump the haters and find your book tribe. There are always people in the world who share the same passion for books as you do.

I repeat: read whatever you want.

Related image

(Pic Source:  Tumblr)

Have you unfairly faced reader’s shame? Feel free to share your story in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

