Thoughts After Reading 1,000 Manga Volumes

Even though I’ve created the goal of reading 1,000 manga volumes, I thought I would drop it with the way my mind wanders sometimes. I’m glad kept my focus and accomplished this long journey! However, I feel a bit sad since the journey’s over. No more library sprees through the manga section pulling out volumes left and right!

Oh bump that, what’ the point of being sad? It’s not like I’m going to stop reading manga forever. That would be a dreadful life!

Back in 2012, I’ve created the challenge to see how far I can go. The manga I’ve read introduced me to a variety of adventures, interesting characters, and hyped up fandoms.

Below are the most memorable manga series I’ve read throughout the manga challenge. Creating this list was difficult since there were dozens of manga series I’ve enjoyed. If  I had to read any manga series again, it would be…

1. Buddha by Osamu Tezaku

Image result for buddha osamu tezuka vol. 1
Buddha by Osamu Tezuka (Amazon) (Goodreads)

 

I found Osamu Tezaku’s Buddha series in my grad school library. Tezuka created a moving, vivid story of the sage’s life.  I barely knew Tezaku beyond Astro Boy.  It was time to expand from that! After reading Buddha, I read Apollo’s SongPrincess Knight, and Dororo.

To this day, I’m disappointed he’s no longer living (darn cancer). It would’ve been great to meet him and talk about his works.

2. Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa

Image result for fullmetal alchemist vol 1
Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa (Goodreads) (Amazon)

I was introduced to Fullmetal Alchemist way back in high school and completed the manga series years later. A library I used to work at had all of the volumes and I had no patience for trying to remember where I left off in the anime.

So happy the Elric brothers (guys on the cover above) had a happy ending. They went through so much trouble all because they wanted to bring their mother back from the dead.

3. Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto by Nami Sano

Image result for haven't you heard i'm sakamoto volume 1
Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto by Nami Sano (Amazon) (Goodreads)

Sano’s short manga series (four volumes) made the list because I absolutely loved Sakamoto’s awesomeness in this “slice of life” school comedy. I was saddened to see him go in such a short time.  No worries, he didn’t die.  You have to read the series to see what happened (and be amazed by his greatness).

4. Magi: Labyrinth of Magic by Shinobu Ohtaka

Image result for magi vol 1
Magi: Labyrinth of Magic by Shinobu Ohtaka (Amazon) (Goodreads)

Magi surprised me. I was taken back by the story’s magical lore associated with djinn, alchemy, and magic revolving around the legendary King Solomon. To think I almost gave up on this series thinking it was a kiddie manga.

5. My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi

Image result for my hero academia vol 1
My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi (Amazon) (Goodreads)

I am grateful to be introduced to My Hero Academia! It’s one of my top favorite manga series I’ve read so far this year. I won’t forget about this superhero series for a long time after it’s completed.

6.  Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi

Image result for pretty guardian sailor moon vol 1
Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi (Amazon) (Goodreads)

I’ve known Sailor Moon FOREVER! I used to collect the episodes when it was sold on VHS and watch it when it appeared on Toonami. Last year, I finally made it to the manga series’ end.  I was left a little confused by the ending but I was glad I made it to the ending nonetheless.

So what’s next?

The manga challenge list will stay up and another list revealing the latest manga I’ve been reading will come up soon.

I want to thank everyone who has been following me throughout this awesome manga journey! It won’t be the last!

What’s your favorite manga series of all time?

Which manga series I should read next?

Leave a Reply

