March 2017 Book Haul: “Star Fever”

via giphy

Do you carry these following symptoms: starry eyes, abrupt outbursts of excitement, sudden urges to shop for expensive dresses, and sleepless nights writing your Oscars speech? My friend, I’m afraid you have a case of “Star Fever”.   I tend to catch this every Academy awards season. Here are the books I’ve picked up after watching the Oscars last month:

1. Bringing Up Oscar by Debra Ann Pawlak

Image result for bringing up oscar goodreads
Bringing up Oscar by Debra Ann Pawlak (Amazon) (Goodreads)

I watch the Oscars every year yet I barely have a clue of its origins. All I know about this awards show is that a group of Hollywood folks in the late 1920’s decided to give rewards to people for doing cool movie stuff. Boom, the Oscars were born! Bringing Up Oscar will definitely expand my knowledge on this prestigious ceremony’s history. I have a strong feeling this will be an awesome book!

2. The Hollywood MBA by Tom Reilly

Image result for the hollywood mba goodreads
The Hollywood MBA by Tom Reilly (Amazon) (Goodreads)

Film production manager Tom Reilly shares his wild stories working in the film industry for over thirty years. When I say “wild”, I’m talking about circumstances that involve alligators roaming around the workplace and managing over a hundred people in one day. Reilly promises a dish of motivational business tips in this engaging book.

3. Writing Movies for Fun and Profit by Thomas Lennon & Robert Ben Garant

Image result for writing movies for fun and profit
Writing Movies for Fun and Profit by Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennon (Amazon) (Goodreads)

Okay, I read this book before and I’m doing it again so I can write a review about it! Garant and Lennon share their hilarious journey writing movies for Hollywood. They’re widely known for their acting roles in Reno 911! but they were also the writers behind Night at the Museum (2006), Balls of Fury (2007), and Herbie: Fully Loaded (2005). This writing duo managed to have successful careers despite their ups and downs.

*~*~*~*~*~*

Besides having “Star Fever”,  reading these books keep me involved with the entertainment industry. I enjoy watching movies, TV, and I write scripts (went to grad school for it). Indulging myself in this atmosphere keeps me in the flow. I love it!

Have you read any of this books? 

Do you have any Hollywood related books you recommend?

Leave a Reply

