Manga Monday #17: “Merman in My Tub” by Itokichi

Image result for merman in my tub
Merman in My Tub by Itokichi (Amazon) (Goodreads)

I’m glad I’ve gave Merman in My Tub a second chance. It’s a freaking hilarious manga about a guy who has to deal with a whiny (but cute) merman living in his tub. Too bad this is not a yaoi (guy on guy romance). This manga series would’ve been a great yaoi!

High school student Tatsumi takes Wakasa the merman home after finding him lying out of his natural ocean habitat. Every volume, fresh new characters enter the story whether it be Tatsumi’s friends and family or Wakasa’s ocean pals . With each volume, it’s harder for Tatsumi to keep his bathtub buddy hidden from the public eye.

Merman in My Tub has no serious plot. It’s one of those “everyday life” comedies except this one has mythical ocean creatures in it. There are currently five volumes of Merman in My Tub in the U.S. right now. The sixth volume will come out later in March 2017. For those who cannot wait, there’s the anime (the opening song music is intense)!

Image result for merman in my tub anime gif
Tatsumi is done with Wakasa’s nonsense (via Amino)

Geez, I thought the first volume was boring. The beginning was slow and  the comedic spots were only “hehe” funny, not “HA HA, crap, I just peed my pants!” funny. After reading the second volume, my view on the series has completely changed. Now, it’s one of my top favorite manga series!

Have you read Merman in My Tub?

Who’s your favorite ocean character? 

 

Leave a Reply

