Library Book Haul: September 2016

What’s investing?  What’s compounding? What are stocks? Who’s Warren Buffet?

What is this?!

A few years ago, I barely had an inch of education about investments. I knew stocks had something to do with it. I knew people would watch the news or read the paper about the stock market then tear their hair out whenever a bunch of numbers besides an abbreviation went down. That’s it! I didn’t know what was going on at the time and I didn’t want to be involved.

Now, books on the investing world has helped me understand much better than before.  I even play a stock trading game since I’ve been so interested in it.

As a Millennial, investments are very important and should be taken seriously. Where was this information when I was in high school? Darn it, I should’ve been learning about mutual funds more than the freaking mitochondria!

Here are a few books I’ve picked up this month:

51li1lg-2bjl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
Millennial Money by Patrick O’Shaughnessy

My fellow Millennials, are you done with student loans eating away on your financial life? Tired of dragging your face through broken glass every time you go to your boring, overworking 9-5 job in exchange for financial security?  This book will lead you a way out of that hot mess by investing in stocks. It may seem scary at first but author Patrick O’Shaughnessy makes stock investing like a cakewalk. Just don’t be a dummy and invest ALL your money into the stock market. Before you can run, you have to take baby steps. O’Shaughnessy will teach you how.

516k4crmqtl
The 25 Habits of Highly Successful Investors by Peter Sander

You want to invest but afraid you might mess up? I know exactly where you’re coming from. I have been engorging on all the information I can muster from my local library and the internet on this subject but I haven’t taken any real action. Hopefully, reading Peter Sander’s encouraging book on successful investors’ habits will lift the veil of anxiety surrounding my financial decisions.

 

2361420
Investing Online for Dummies by Matt Krantz

This is a helpful book for those who want to invest but don’t want the trouble paying fees with a stockbroker (the middleman). There’s the fee you have to pay for stockbrokers to handle your money, whenever you get a gain, and so on. Quite a headache, right? Luckily, there are tons of sites online where trading is a smooth ride for your wallet. Before you dive into online investing, it might be beneficial to read this book first!

I have picked up more books than listed above but these were the most anticipated reads in my haul. I’m glad I’ve decided to pick these books up!

Have you read any of the investing books above? What are your favorite investing books? 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

