Reading Method III: “Reward Points”

tumblr_o14lftvozc1tzv1dpo1_500
via Tumblr

Creating a “reward points” system has given me the ability to read more books than before.  For example, I create a goal obtaining thirty points within a month by reading books. I gain two points for every book I finish whether it’s a graphic novel or a 100+ page adult fiction book.

If I don’t complete a book within a day but I meet a certain time minimum,  I still gain points.  If I read a book for thirty minutes, I get 0.5 points, one point for an hour, two points for two hours, and so on. Sometimes, I don’t finish a book within four hours but I get four points for the time. Later, I finally finish the book and gain an additional two points for completion. Overall, I’ve gathered six points from reading and completing one book that day! I hope that makes sense (if not, feel free to type in “WTF Duckie?!” in the comment section below).

What are my rewards for these points? If I complete my monthly goal of thirty points, I reward myself with a little shopping, spending time playing video games, playing scratch-it lottery tickets, and more. One exception: One reward for  every thirty points unless I achieve twice the monthly goal (equal to or more than sixty points)!

Let’s review my reading reward point system:

  • One completed book = 2 points
  • Reading for 30 min = 0.5 points
  • Reading for 60 min (1 hr) = 1 point
  • Reading for 90 min (1.5 hrs) = 1.5 points
  • Reading for 120 min  (2 hrs) =  2 points
  • and etc…

Here’s another example I recorded while I was working towards my monthly goal last month (August 2016). The points in parentheses are the total amount of points altogether:

  • August 1, 2016
    • Mastery by Robert Greene = 0.5pts (0.5 pts)
  • August 2, 2016
    • Mastery = 4 pts (4.5pts)
    • Mastery = 2 pts *completed* (6.5pts)
  • August 3, 2016
    • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child= 1 pt (7.5pts)
    • 100 Dark Nights: Z = 2 pts (9.5pts)
  • August 4, 2016
    • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child *completed* = 2pts (11.5 pts)

I went all the way up to 106.5 pts!

Imagine the rewards I treated myself to…

giphy
Yep, lotsa video game time (via Giphy).

This system has turned my leisure reading into an incredibly beneficial habit. I’ve also included blog posts for points (2pts each) to keep myself focused on working this precious book blog.

Think this reading habit can help you read more? Feel free to share to your experiences or any other ways you get your reading done!

One thought on “Reading Method III: “Reward Points”

Leave a Reply

