BOOK REVIEW: “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg

51ml2bjd9l3l
The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg (Amazon) (Goodreads)
  • Title: The Power of Habit
  • Author: Charles Duhigg
  • Publication: Random House (Feb. 28. 2012)
  • Pages: 371
  • Genre: Business, Self-Help
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Source: Library
  • Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I thoroughly understand the basic cycle of habits and how I can modify them thanks to Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit. Duhigg explains how habits run over very lives. When we have a desire, we proceed through a repeatable routine until we obtain it. An employee goes through a series a challenging assignments and promotions until the desired top position is fulfilled. A drug addict wants to get high so he takes LSD to achieve it. A bit extreme but it’s another example of a habit.

Duhigg presents real-life narratives and neat visuals how habits work and the changes made for better results. Life is made up of many habits.

 

18202242-_sx540_
A “Habit” Visual (via Goodreads)

 

The Power of Habit is a highly applicable book. I recommend it for anybody who has any habits to change from”bad” to “ok” to “good” to “better”. Some days, I tend to play video games the first thing in the morning when I could be doing more productive tasks. I could be reading a new book, exercising, or cleaning my room. Nope, I must build a new house and tend to my wheat farm in Minecraft! That counter-productive routine has changed since Duhigg’s book. Now, I reward myself with Minecraft after doing my important duties first.

Thanks Charles Duhigg!

Have you read this book?

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg

  1. Sounds like Stephen Covey and Duhigg’s have a valid point about habits.
    I’ve recently incorporated the suggestion that you should do the most important, hardest task of the day first, then the easier tasks later. The premise behind this is that you have the most energy at the start of the day so you should expend that on the most relevant, difficult task. Makes sense, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

