BOOK REVIEW: “What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding” by Kristin Newman

18373272
What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman (Amazon) (Goodreads)
  • Title: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding 
  • Author: Kristin Newman
  • Publication: Three Rivers Press/Crown Publishing (May 20, 2014)
  • Pages: 291
  • Genre: Non-Fiction, Travel
  • Format: Paperback
  • Source: Library
  • Rating: 2 1/2  out of 5 stars

Television writer Kristin Newman ended a shaky six-year relationship with an easily provoked environmentalist. After a breakup recovery trip around Europe, Newman decided to be single a little while longer. She has traveled to South America, Europe, and the Middle East.  Meanwhile, her friends around her were getting married and giving birth to screaming little humans.

Not only Newman has written about her travels, she was brave enough to write about the intimate affairs with the men she has met along the way. She warned her parents of the details if they ever picked up their own copies of her book.

I had mixed feelings with What Was I Doing While You Were Breeding. I was excited when I read the book’s summary until I actually read the book. It’s like when you watch an awesome movie trailer but the actual movie leaves you unexpectedly disappointed or heartbroken. I was on that rock bottom level and contemplated sending the book back to the library early.

The balance between her actual travel/cultural experiences and her casual sexual affairs were lopsided. I was more interested in her trips! I wasn’t expecting it to be so focused on her foreign relationships (and relationships in general). I began having gag reflexes every time Newman mentioned making out (and more) with some random sexy foreign guy she met ten seconds ago.

The honest reader inside me told me to give Newman’s memoir a second chance. I had a fair experience after finishing it. The relieving news: Newman has a happy ending.

Newman’s expeditions reminded me of Sex and the City.  It was the only way I could get through the book since I’ve enjoyed the show.  Out of all of affairs she had, I wished Newman lived happily ever after with “Father Juan”. He was cool (and extremely handsome) except for the whole–

Well, just read the book and find out.

P.S.-Be prepared for Kristin’s Brazilian story (omg).

Have you read this book?

What are your favorite travel stories you recommend? 

Leave a Reply

