Manga Monday #2: Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi

10912036
Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi (via Goodreads)

Sailor Moon was the first anime I ever watched when I was little. The story is about a young girl who discovers she is a magical defender of mankind by her talking cat. When I watched the anime, I instantly wished I had magical powers and a cute talking cat as well. To this day, my favorite sailor scouts are Sailor Mercury (for her intelligence), Sailor Jupiter (for her toughness), and Sailor Venus (we’re both Libras).

I remember reading the first manga volume around the nineties but I couldn’t find them in bookstores anymore (yo, where did they go?). Finally in 2011, Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon hit  the shelves. I was too busy reading other books at the time so I barely noticed. Pretty much I only observed its existence, put it on my list of “manga to read” and moved on with life. Thanks to my local library constantly  displaying it in the graphic novel area, I’m finally making time to sit down and revisit a childhood favorite.

What was your first anime or manga? Do you have a favorite sailor scout?

Leave a Reply

